h1

honey.

January 29, 2010

Sugar. Beautiful. Darling. Sexy. Sweetheart. Babe.

There’s something about pet names for significant others. I can’t quite put my finger on it. For some inexplicable reason, I love them. But I only love them one way – from guy to girl. It’s somehow endearing (though many girls out there would disagree with me). And for the record, only some guys can pull this off. It depends on the girl too, but trust me, you know if you can or not. However, girls using pet names for boyfriends is not; it’s childish or overly girly. I know – double standard.

When I said earlier that my reason for loving these terms is inexplicable – that was a lie. I love them because they make me smile. Not a “oh, thanks for the compliment” smile. But a true “if I didn’t think I would offend, I’d be laughing right now” smile. The ones that bring the best smiles are the slightly uncommon but still completely generic names. Great example: babydoll. I didn’t think people truly said things like that until I overheard a conversation the other day. Even typing it, I feel ridiculous. And at the same time, I think it’s awesome.

Now, I’m sure I seem like a girl who would normally be offended or put off, resulting in never being called pet names. As much as I love the terms in theory, in reality, I wouldn’t know what to do. I would probably laugh and give you a look. It would ruin the moment. You probably wouldn’t try again. That’s ok, I understand.

Side note: If it’s unclear to the boyfriend if this post is a not so subtle hint at something – it’s not. Don’t worry.

2 comments

  1. i’m a fan of her honor, judge sexypants. sugartits works too.


  2. I think these things are best used by people who have been together for a while, rather than some guy who calls every girl he meets “baby” or “babydoll”. Also, I think it needs to happen naturally or it just sounds weird. Like if your bf read this and suddenly called you some pet name he never did before, it would be odd.

    Reminds of a song that was huge in Miami in the late 90s/early 2000s where the chorus was “I’m not your baby, so please don’t call me that”



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

