h1

dark knight.

July 21, 2008

As the movie that beat Spiderman 3’s opening weekend, that sold out midnight showings weeks early, that could deliver Heath Ledger a posthumous Oscar, that has pretty much been hyped since Batman Begins came out, The Dark Knight begs to get a blog post. So if you haven’t seen it, go see it; it’s worth the $10 dollars. But this is what I thought, and I’m going to try to keep it short.

Heath Ledger was incredible, playing The Joker in such a disturbed manner, he made me cringe more than once. He very clearly blew the rest of the cast out of the water. However, The Joker does have more character to show than anyone else in the movie, and Ledger had the pressure to live up to Jack Nicholson’s Joker. Either way, it was very original and definitely made the movie.

Christian Bale; there is just something that I don’t like about him. And I can’t figure out what it is because I love every movie I’ve seen with him (Batman Begins, Newsies, American Psycho, Equilibrium, I’m Not There). And the Bat-voice; as cool as I think it is that he can actually make his voice sound like that, it was very distracting. All I could think was, “I know Christian Bale doesn’t sound anything like that”.

As far as plot, there were a few things I disliked (I’m not going into detail because it would be too long). First, I never thought Bruce Wayne was so intent on giving Batman up and this part of the plot seemed unnecessary. Second, I really didn’t like the Rachel character, or that she seemed to be the driving reason behind everything Batman/Bruce did. In fact, I was pretty happy when Batman ended up saving Harvey Dent instead. Third, why did Batman crash into the truck after avoiding hitting The Joker? He should definitely be smoother than that, or at least smooth enough not to knock himself out while trying to fight a bad guy. Fourth, finding out where The Joker was through cellphones was a bit ridiculous. And now I’m torn between whether Lucius Fox resigned or not because it definitely felt like he was walking away for good when the machine was blowing up.

Since it’s easier to pick at things I disliked, I will finish with the fact that it was a very entertaining and enjoyable movie. I don’t believe it was the end all be all of movies. I don’t even think it was levels above Iron Man. But it was worth seeing and probably worth owning.

One comment

  1. lucious fox didnt resign. He said that he wasn’t going to stay in the company if that machine was going to be there and batman told him to type in his name when he was finished. When he typed it in the machine blew up , thats why he was smiling. So he stays.:):):)



Leave a Reply

