h1

okkervil river.

September 16, 2008

Sunday night I saw Okkervil River, with The Walkmen, at Madison’s Barrymore Theater. The theater was quite small, holding less than 1,000 people (smaller than Bailey Hall at Cornell). However, the ceiling looked like the night sky, complete with flickering lights for stars, and the small audience pretty much guaranteed a good view for everyone.

As far as the music, I didn’t really know either band, beyond a few positive comments and hearing a song or two. I still don’t have much of an opinion of The Walkmen. They were fun to watch and put on a good show. Okkervil River very much exceeded my expectations. In general, I don’t prefer live music to its recorded counterpart. This show is now the exception. I had listened to a couple Okkervil River songs before, and they were decent, but not something I would consciously choose to put in a playlist. But seeing it live somehow made it much better.

And since I can’t figure out how to embed audio on WordPress, here’s a link:

Lost Coastlines – Okkervil River

One comment

  1. […] Yi Wei locksley. June 14, 2009, 12:46 pm Filed under: Uncategorized A while back, I mentioned that I heard of a band, Locksley, half of which lived in my small suburb of Milwaukee for several years. This past weekend, they played a small show at the Majestic in Madison. And it now is at the top of my list for recent concerts, beating out Okkervil River/The Walkmen. […]



Leave a Reply

