h1

film bits.

December 14, 2008

My movie watching is slowly increasing again. Last week I watched Wall-E, Gone Baby Gone, and Marc Jacobs & Louis Vuitton. This weekend, it was Helvetica and Brick.

Wall-E was cute. Unfortunately, other than “cute”, I don’t have much more to say about it. The plot was entertaining, and the characters amusing. The only thing that really stood out wasĀ  that it seemed to have significantly more shots of landscape and background than most animated movies.

I also have very little to say about Gone Baby Gone. Many times, I was confused, and the plot seemed disjointed. But in the end, it all came together well enough. I usually like mystery movies, but having a weirdly sectioned plot made it harder to follow and get into.

Marc Jacobs & Louis Vuitton was extremely disappointing to me. It was somewhat entertaining to look at the fashion designer as an artist, but it was lacking any real pull. Since the movie seemed to impress the fact that so few cameras have looked into Marc Jacobs work, I expected something more.

Helvetica I’ve seen a couple times already, and still like it. It’s amazing to me how these designers and typographers feel so strongly about type when everyone else hardly notices it, and how this one font, which seems so plain, isn’t really plain at all.

Brick was entertaining and is one of the most likable movies I’ve seen in a while. I had started watching it about a year ago, and never finished. It was an interesting attempt to combine classic film noir (like The Maltese Falcon) with the modern setting of high school. This made for crazy dialogue that made it extremely difficult to really know what any one character was saying, but it also was the best part of the movie.

Leave a Reply

