h1

donation.

February 8, 2009

I spent an hour trying to give blood the other afternoon. This has been the fourth time I’ve gone to donate, and every time I have the same problems: small veins or the blood stops flowing. The last two times, everything went along smoothly, so it’s gotten to the point where I don’t worry very much if it will work. Unfortunately, this time didn’t.

My blood flowed so slowly, they had to adjust the needle every couple of minutes. So not only was it going slower than normal, but the nurse couldn’t work on anyone else because she kept having to move my needle and watch my bag. By the time I finally filled the entire bag, I had no more blood for the test tubes. They can’t use my blood if I can’t fill up the tubes. So we decided to try to go through my other arm to get enough blood to finish. However, the only vein to be found was on the edge of my elbow. Every time the needle got close to it, it moved. Plus, it hurt like crazy to have the needle poking around in my arm. Very quickly, we gave up with no tubes filled. What a waste.

One comment

  1. Haha poor girl, no more blood … ^o^



Leave a Reply

