h1

generational gap.

February 10, 2009

Recently, I’ve had an influx of the older people I know (i.e. the parent generation) on the social media sites I frequent. So suddenly, I’m Facebook friending and Twitter following people whom I would usually have very little communication. I think it’s pretty cool. It’s closing the generational gap, and increasing communication on a level that the younger generation is more comfortable with.

Not that I’m stalking anyone, but it’s nice to know what’s going on in the lives of people you don’t see very often. It makes it much less stressful when you actually see them in real life. You have at least some clue about what they’ve been doing. It provides a connection I would never pursue on my own for the following reasons:

  1. I rarely have contact information for these people.
  2. It’s much easier and less awkward to have a 5 minutes conversation on Facebook chat than a 5 minutes phone call.
  3. You don’t have to worry about bothering the other person when they’re busy.
Leave a Reply

