h1

facebook friends.

February 12, 2009

Speaking of Facebook, I’ve been much more active on the site in the past few months. There are a couple reasons for my activity. First, I’ve been bored and Facebook is one of my default browsing sites. Second, it’s very effective communication when I don’t have someone’s email address. Third, I’ve met a lot of new people and this is how I remember their names. I still dislike using anything but the basic Facebook functionality, but I’ve started writing on walls, sending messages, and friending people much more often.

My activity has been the subject of a conversation recently because I am very much not friends with all my new Facebook friends. So when is it appropriate to initiate a Facebook friend? Should it wait until you are real-life friends? I think not. My rule of thumb is if I can find you (through searching or friends) on Facebook, friending is completely fair game. Yes, this rule isn’t equal across everyone; people with generic names and hard to recognize pictures makes it much harder. Even worse are the people who turn on the stupid privacy settings that make me unable to search for you even if we are friends.

Once I’m Facebook friends with someone, I can make a much more informed decision of whether I want to pursue more of a friendship. I’ll say it straight because it’s true – I will judge you based on what I see in your Facebook profile. That information probably won’t be a deal-breaker, but it’s better than not knowing anything.

A person graduates from Facebook friend/normal acquaintance to real-life friend when I get access to a personal phone number or address. The only time this might get fuzzy is if you put that info on Facebook.

One comment

  1. […] So when are they a real friend? What if they don’t want to “friend” you back? Earlier, I thought it meant when I had your phone number. Now, I’m starting to think it’s once you’ve figured out all these little details […]



Leave a Reply

