h1

valentine.

February 16, 2009

I’m in California again for work, which meant I got to spend Valentine’s Day with my valentine. After three years together, we’ve become a very laid back couple. It’s nice to be able to enjoy a lazy holiday. We had a pretty normal day (Rock Band 2 + He’s Just Not That Into You), and then made dinner (steak) at home. I think the long-distance relationship feeds into our laziness. I’m happy if we’re just in the same place (or even the same time zone); Besides, we don’t need any fanciness; we almost decided to make Sloppy Joes for Valentine’s Day dinner. We made the fantastic decision to make them the next day instead.

Frankly, I’m never too excited about “relationship holidays” – Valentine’s Day, anniversaries, Sweetest Day (whatever that is – apparently celebrated mostly in the Midwest?!). I think they’re a bit one-sided. What am I suppose to do for the boyfriend? Get him flowers and chocolate? A sappy card? I don’t need a holiday to do something special or buy a present. I much prefer buying presents because I find something awesome for Yi rather than because I have to (yes, I do get him Christmas and birthday gifts). This is how I prefer to receive gifts too. It makes them so much better!

Leave a Reply

