h1

derby.

March 8, 2009

This weekend, I attended my first roller derby bout to watch the Mad Rollin’ Dolls League. Even though I’m not a big sports fan, I really like watching live sports. It’s always more exciting. And while I am a little bit terrified of most large crowds, being in sports crowds is usually pretty fun. I’m also the first to admit that I don’t know anything about pretty much any sport. I can figure out when to cheer and when my team is scoring (usually), but beyond that, I’m pretty confused all the time.

Since roller derby isn’t a widely known sport, the crowd is a bit smaller, but way more into it. And it’s incredibly fast paced, which is great for shorter attention spans. And they try to help you know what’s going on by explaining the game in the beginning. Honestly, the explanation didn’t really help me, but I wasn’t really focusing very well at that point.

There are several more bouts coming up, so I would highly recommend going (tickets are only $12!).

Leave a Reply

