h1

pressure.

March 13, 2009

Apparently, I cave under pressure. This is one of those things I would never admit on a personality test. Because I really thought it wasn’t true (and because I would never want to admit it). Truthfully, it boils down to the fact that I’ve never really felt pressured to do anything I felt strongly about, so I’ve never had to opportunity to crumble. And it’s really easy to talk the talk (I’m all about the talk in case you haven’t realized).

Turns out, no matter how well I can talk, I’m really a sucker who can’t say no. I just have good enough friends that I won’t get into any real trouble, and they’ll always watch out for me (thanks for that for those reading). I also feel much less bad telling them no. I’m no longer making that crucial first impression, so hopefully they like me whether I say no or not. But suddenly, when I’m faced with peer pressure outside of those friends, I don’t have a clue how to decline in an acceptable way (acceptable in my mind at least). It’s like getting blind-sided by someone asking you out on a date; you end up saying yes because you can’t think of anything else. Maybe I’m too concerned with making a good impression…

This of course doesn’t change how much I will make fun of you if you cave to pressure too.

One comment

  1. […] I like to think that I lean toward the optimistic side of thinking. This could be completely in my head. Just the other day, a co-worker told me that I look so unhappy when he sees me that he just want to give me a hug. I’m a pretty awkward person to hug, so I must look pretty upset. Thankfully, he never actually tries it. The point is, that’s a terrible thing to hear. Unless I’m flat out crying (which I will never do in public), I don’t want people feeling bad for me; I don’t want to make them unhappy. And I’d hope that any of my friends can confirm that I’m a pretty happy person. I get excited about almost anything, and I find most things hilarious (thanks to my awful sense of humor). And if I’m having a good time, I don’t want to be with someone who’s obviously not. I have an immense amount of faith in people (mostly my friends) that they will decline doing things they don’t like; they won’t cave to peer pressure. […]



Leave a Reply

