h1

visitors.

March 20, 2009

Last weekend, I had several friends come visit Madison. Because it was their first Wisconsin trip, I felt obligated to find some stereotypical Midwest fun. Of course, that meant heading down to The Great Dane for dinner. I had never been to the Downtown location because the Fitchburg one is so much closer. However, it was fantastic. The bartender was super nice and gave us so many different tastes it was difficult to choose a beer. The food was also very good. I love bar food, but I wasn’t impressed at the Fitchburg location. And maybe it was because I was starving, but my Black and Tan Cheddar burger was delicious.

Then, naturally, we went to the Essen Haus. At the Essen Haus, Saturday night means polka, and who can say no to polka? Last time – the first time actually – the dance floor was packed and the whole place was singing. It was a bit more subdued this time, which made it less intimidating to attempt to dance. Apparently, it doesn’t really matter if you know what you’re doing or not. Plus, you get to sing along to songs that go: “I don’t want her, you can have her. She’s too fat for me”.

Leave a Reply

