h1

negativity.

April 10, 2009

Everyone enjoys a bit of complaining now and again. It seems to be a pretty standard outlet for frustration, annoyance, stress…everything. But everyone also needs a little optimism, a smile a few times a day.

And then you have those people that don’t have it. Sure, most people will smile at least once a day, since it’s often the socially acceptable thing to do at one point or another. But some people don’t have good things to say. Or the only good things they say are in reference to some non-present situation. There’s just no need for such negativity. It’s an optical illusion. If the glass is half empty, just look again; it can be half full. If you have nothing good to say about the present, you better be proactive enough to do something – anything – to make it better. And there is always something you can do. Food is usually a good option for everyone (maybe not anorexics).

I like to think that I lean toward the optimistic side of thinking. This could be completely in my head. Just the other day, a co-worker told me that I look so unhappy when he sees me that he just want to give me a hug. I’m a pretty awkward person to hug, so I must look pretty upset. Thankfully, he never actually tries it. The point is, that’s a terrible thing to hear. Unless I’m flat out crying (which I will never do in public), I don’t want people feeling bad for me; I don’t want to make them unhappy. And I’d hope that any of my friends can confirm that I’m a pretty happy person. I get excited about almost anything, and I find most things hilarious (thanks to my awful sense of humor). And if I’m having a good time, I don’t want to be with someone who’s obviously not. I have an immense amount of faith in people (mostly my friends) that they will decline doing things they don’t like; they won’t cave to peer pressure.

And any time you need a smile, remember you rock.

Leave a Reply

