h1

texting.

June 5, 2009

I’ve been extremely behind in the texting phenomenon. Up until a few months ago, I just didn’t do it. Never felt the need; thought it was difficult; cost me a lot of money. And now that I’ve added it to my plan, it’s still difficult, but I’m starting to find the use more and more. It must be like Tivo – you don’t realize how great it is until you have it.

But one of the greatest things about texting is how informal it is compared to other forms of communication. Somehow, I can text with a random stranger I’ve only met for 2 hours total, and it’s perfectly ok. But if he were to call me, it’d be super awkward and uncomfortable and a bit creepy.  How does that work? Especially since he has to have my phone number in order to text anyway. In fact, I’d even be more likely to give my number to someone I just met they say they’ll text me rather than call me.  This would be a terribly mean joke if they then called me.

I guess it’s tough to be formal when you’ve got limited character space and having correct punctuation/capitalization is almost impossible. So texts are either super functional (“I’ll pick you up in ten”) or super not (<insert inside joke>). There’s less grey area. Skip the greeting and the small talk. You don’t even expect a response all the time. But my new problem is that texting has now been around long enough that there are definitely social conventions, and I need to figure them out quick before I make a terrible faux pas.

One comment

  1. I don’t get the people that text back and forth. If you have to go more than twice on a text thread it’s time to pick up the phone.



Leave a Reply

