h1

year one.

July 8, 2009

It’s been one year since I graduated and started working at my current job. Seems like it’s gone so fast, but been so long. And it’s calling for a “highlights” list post, but isn’t that what this blog is – one giant list of realizations from my life? What’s there left to say?

Working is infinitely better than school. If my thoughts of graduate school had ever even existed (which they didn’t), they’d definitely be gone now. Not that college was terrible or that work is amazing. I just strongly prefer:

  1. not working when I get home
  2. feeling like I’m actually doing something useful
  3. making money to do fun things in my free time.

And I finally feel grown up. I still hope that in five years there’s going to be some obvious difference in myself, but I just can’t think of what that difference would be at the moment. Logically, the next life-changing moment would be getting married, having a kid, buying a house… No need to rush though, right?

Celebration time then?

One comment

  1. The only better thing about college is having more discretionary time. Sure, you should probably be studying, but yeah….

    I mean, on my worst days I had maybe 3 hours of class. That left me 21 hours to do with as I wished.

    When you work, you’ve only got 16 hours….



Leave a Reply

