h1

contact.

July 16, 2009

Keeping in touch with friends and family across the country is always a challenge. I just never know what to say in a quick email. And I’m always nervous that people don’t appreciate random emails. Personally, I love them. I get so many emails from newsletters and airlines and stores that getting email from an actual person is very exciting (yes, I am very easy to please). However, email has a couple problems: 1) it’s very direct; you really need to have something to say, and 2) I’m terrible at continuing to write after more than one or two emails.

And that’s where my online activities come in. I originally started all of them for myself. I didn’t really tell anyone about them, and I could just do my own thing. I always thought (and still think) that if my friends read my blog, I would have to self-censor my ranting and raving. Though, if this blog were dedicated to complaining about my friends, it would be exceptionally boring and I should really get some new friends. But turns out, it’s a fantastic way to keep in touch. My life, boiled down to a nutshell, is being broadcast – somewhere between here and there. It’s probably the easiest way for anyone to find out how things are going.

Likewise, I have a much better connection with the people I know who have regular online activities. I can keep up with their lives without having to necessarily respond. And I can still shoot off a quick email if I feel the need to be a bit more personal. It’s strange though. Most of my close friends aren’t Internet geeks. So the people I keep tabs on are people I didn’t (and still don’t) know extremely well. Funny how that works.

One comment

  1. That’s what I keep trying to tell my parents. If you want to know what I’m up to, just check my blog.



Leave a Reply

