h1

hold steady.

July 20, 2009

A couple weeks late – I know. But I went to The Hold Steady concert when they came through Madison on July 10th. They played at the Majestic, which is quickly becoming a favorite for concerts given it’s small space and usually cheap tickets.

Their opening band was The God Damn Doo Wop Band from Minneapolis. I actually really liked their sound. However, the volume of the mics to the music was off balance for their whole performance. I wish they had done a sound check before playing. And since the band wasn’t advertised before the show at all, the audience seemed less receptive of their music than if there had been more of a warning. It’s hard to be excited for doo wop when you expect something else.

The Hold Steady was pretty incredible though. The audience was super excited; the band had a ridiculous amount of energy. And Craig Finn’s awkward dancing is way less awkward in real life. For some reason I always think it’s going to be a good idea to be near the front row at concerts. And, like every other time, I was completely and totally wrong. I am just not strong enough, excited enough, or large enough to keep the crowd from crushing me. So I lasted about three songs before having to make my way out of the crowd so I could breathe. Thank god the audience was good about letting people out. But the band didn’t talk too much; they played all their big songs; they played an encore. Overall, I’d definitely try to see them again.

Strange thing with concerts is that when they’re amazing, I don’t have that much to say about them. Maybe I just don’t have enough skill or vocabulary to put it into words. Maybe because it’s not a specific thing that makes it great – instead, it’s the meshing of everything (I know – very deep). But not having anything to say is still better than complaining!

favorite song – give it a listen if you haven’t heard The Hold Steady!

Leave a Reply

