h1

feminine.

August 4, 2009

This article got passed along to me (thanks!) and while I didn’t love the actual article, I did like the title.

Feminists get a bad reputation most of the time. Granted, that’s how it goes for any group, since there’s always the crazies who ruin it for everyone. But I do believe that feminism has changed over the years, or at least the perception of it. And pretty much what it boils down to is that women aren’t men. (I know – y’all are just blown away by that epiphany).

But the point is that so often feminism is seen as women doing things that are stereotypically male – fixing cars, programming, playing certain sports, etc. I guess the idea was that if women could excel in areas that men dominated, it would prove that we were good enough or something like that. Feminism was women being like men to be seen as equal to them.

But in more recent years, I think feminism has become more about embracing the feminine and accepting that being a bit girly is, in itself, on equal footing with being masculine. Balance and grace are as good as strength and power. Art and English are as important as math and science. And maybe all boys should learn a bit of cooking and baking too. It’s all about loving what makes us women.

A while back, the feminist blogs pretty much exploded when Jack Welch made the comment, “There is no work-life balance”, as an explanation for why there aren’t more women in top executive positions. However, he’s right. It is harder for women because having kids is harder on us. It’s guaranteed you will be out of the office for a good chunk of time if you get pregnant. And it is a choice that women will always have to make. Feminism, to me, is about having that choice, between work and life, mean the same as the choice between to high-level jobs. We shouldn’t have to think one is “lesser”. Heck, having kids is something that men can’t do; it’s the woman’s moment to shine.

ps. I’m not a hardcore feminist for anyone who’s not aware of that.

3 comments

  1. Awesome to see this post! I wasn’t sure if you’d just thrown the article away. I agree that the article itself wasn’t as awesome as it could have been, but, having read your blog for 1-3 months now, I was very curious on how you’d take the kernel that was the main gist of the article and interpret it.

    I think you hit the nail on the head. Most of the misunderstanding and bad mojo around the feminism movement seems to be due to the confusion from around the 60s and 70s when women tried to be men so hard that it culminated in the 80s with those insane quarterback-like shoulder pads to make them look more manly. I think, perhaps, the inanity of the girl-power movement of the early to mid 90s helped people realize how ridiculous feminism had become – nearly a parody of itself.

    This is why so many groups saw this as an attack on their way of life. And for a while, all the women who thought it was important to raise a family were made to feel inadequate.

    And it didn’t have to be that way, all the original feminists wanted was to have an opportunity to do whatever they wanted – be a CEO or astronaut, or whatever.

    I think we need to celebrate and honor our differences. Women are “beautiful” (not in a “hotness” sense, but aesthetically) precisely because they are feminine. It’s the reason they’ve been the source material for so many sculptures, paintings and photos for centuries. The softness is not weakness, it’s the best part. (No offense to any body builder women who come across this blog)


    • Yeah, definitely meant to post about it a little faster, but just didn’t get around to it. I always get worried when posting about feminism. It’s never been a huge deal to me, and I usually only think about it when it directly affects my life. Though, since you’ve only been reading my blog for a little while, I clearly need to find a new topic.


  2. […] manliness. January 27, 2010 Well, back to one of the recurring topics on my blog – men and women and their interactions. The Art of Manliness (which I highly recommend) posted What Can Manly Men […]



Leave a Reply

