h1

wipeout.

September 22, 2009

After I bought my bike earlier this year, I learned that I was not a very confident bicyclist. After my first attempt, when I got less than 2 miles before turning back, it was very clear biking alone on streets was not the way to start. But after using Madison’s bike trails with a friend for a few months, I’ve gotten much more comfortable. At least, I was having no problems going out for a ride on my own.

And then, this past week, I had a little spill. I don’t even know how it happened. One minute I’m riding; the next minute I’m falling. In general, I’m pretty good at not getting hurt. Even as a kid, I didn’t run around with scraped knees and elbows. So I believe my lack of experience with taking a spill leads me to be a bit more shaken up when it happens. Anyways, I ended up with two nicely scraped up knees, a tiny scrape on the shoulder, a little bump on the chin, and about 3 miles to ride home.

Now really, I’m a bit of a wimp and have no problem admitting it. Sitting on the pavement bleeding, in my mind, is a good reason to cry. Except, there was no one on the trail that afternoon, so the tears would be purely for me only. And I probably looked on the terrible side of things already; tears weren’t going to help. The only thing to do was make my way over to the water fountain (that was luckily nearby!) and try to clean myself up. Without band-aids, and having to ride home, there really wasn’t a whole lot I could do. But biking with injured knees is not fun.

6 comments

  1. How in the world did you manage to fall and scrape both knees? Every time I’ve fallen on my bike it’s been to one side or the other. Did you go over the bars?


    • I never occurred to me that when normal people fall off their bike, they only scrape up one side. But apparently, everyone asks how I managed to scrape both knees. No idea how that happened, really. I must be special.


  2. Omg 😦

    Imagining you crying all alone on the side of a road just broke my heart.


    • apparently, unlike Min I’m just a heartless bastard


    • I know, it’s a very sad picture.


  3. Sorry to hear that. Sounds like at least your palm/wrist and elbow were well protected. Could it be that the front wheel got off the trail edge and could not climb back on, while the center of gravity was still on the inside of the edge?

    For scrapes on the knee, I find almost any antibiotic gel quite useful at keeping the wound moist, to reduce pain during bending.



Leave a Reply

