h1

autumn.

October 25, 2009

While it’s technically been autumn for a while, it’s only recently that I’ve been feeling the full atmosphere of the season. And with Halloween just around the corner, I’m now in a bit of a scramble to get fully prepared for the holiday. So I thought it might be time to list my 5 favorite things about the fall, seeing as it is my favorite season.

1) Fall fashion – I’m definitely not a trendsetter, but fall fashion wins above all other seasonal attire. The cool weather means boots, jackets, hats, and scarves. Frankly, I’ve never been a summer dress kind of girl; I like the heavier fabrics. Maybe it’s just because I grew up in Wisconsin.

2) Cold weather smell – The smell of cold weather is amazing. This is truly a winter thing when it get below freezing, but it starts in fall. I can’t even describe what I like about the smell, but it’s wonderful.

3) Autumn beers – They’re not too light and they’re not too dark. I haven’t really come across one that I didn’t like. It makes me a little bit sad that they’re only seasonal.

4) Colors – I like the darker hues of fall fashion – maroons, browns, forest greens, dark purples. Then, the colors of the leaves are so warm and bright. It’s an interesting pairing – the brights and the darks. But as long as I don’t have to have to wear the oranges and yellows, I’m happy with them.

5) Halloween – costumes, pumpkins, candy corn, trick or treating. What’s not to love? Despite how hard it is to come up with a costume, especially if you have to spend time outside, it’s pretty much just one big party. And I can’t bring myself to buy candy corn at any other time of year.

2 comments

  1. Ahhh.. the autumn smell. Mesmerizing indeed!


  2. I am definitely a fan of women’s fall fashion – something about it is so alluring.

    I love fall as a photographer because of the leaves. Also, birds tend to be more willing to tolerate you because they’re hungry.



Leave a Reply

