h1

dressed.

February 8, 2010

Recent circulations of the dress code from Pi Phi’s Cornell chapter got me thinking about a couple things. First, while I understand these requirements are for Rush, it still seems unnecessary. If how these girls dress is so important that you will type up six pages, maybe it’d be better to find out what they’d choose on their own. If you specifically call out satin as a no-no, you’re never going to be able to weed out secret satin lovers who want to join your club. Second, the use of four exclamation points at once AND the non-word “shizz” is not a good indicator of any kind of authority to be respected.

But either way, it got me thinking about how people dress in general. And in fact, that list (while it is overkill) isn’t terrible advice for those who are actually looking for do/don’t list. I tend to look at what other people are wearing all the time. Maybe it’s just because I’m a girl. But I like to keep an eye out for outfits, styles, clothes, shoes and accessories that I think look good. And let me tell you, there are a lot of people out there who need some fashion help.

I’m not a fashionista in any sense, and the Midwest is no where on the same level of dressiness as the coasts. So I know I don’t have impossible expectations! Well dressed, put together people just stick out. Definitely for guys – as I don’t think I’ve ever met a girl who doesn’t notice on some level how a guy dresses. And, I’m betting, it will almost always work in their advantage.

2 comments

  1. From reading this should I be concerned with what I have on when I go out? As a person with no style I am always concerned with comfort when I decide what to wear.


    • Comfort is important. Perfect example – thigh high boots may look amazing, but completely impractical if I would want to sit down during the night. Therefore, if I wear them, chances are I will be unhappy and not so fun to be around. You just need to find something that looks good AND is comfortable. Usually takes some shopping effort.



Leave a Reply

