h1

palm.

March 8, 2010

My new phone is an old Palm Centro. Rather than buy a phone, my sister shipped an old one she still had lying around. So same number, same plan. It’s got a lot of fancy features that I can’t use, but so far it’s been working out.

Of course, rather than read the manual, I just spent a couple hours playing around with the options. I have to say, the phone is not very intuitive – there are menus and options hidden all over the place. My first task was to eliminate the data features from quick start buttons. That in itself took me a good chunk of time. It then took me about three days to figure out the alarm. I even got out the manual, and it didn’t tell me – eventually I had to do some Googling. Turns out the alarm is in the World Clock application, and while I could figure out how to set the alarm preferences, it took me another ten minutes to figure out how to actually set the alarm. And to top it off, I have to set it daily – no ability for a recurring alarm. Unbelievable.

But I am liking the fact that it’s pretty small. I still dislike having all the buttons on the outside, but I’m getting used to locking the keypad. I’ve also determined that the full keyboard is quite handy. On the Centro, it’s tiny, but since I have small hands, it works. I still have a half expectation that words will auto-complete for me. I’m also extremely happy with my ringtone and message alert. With new phones, it seems like all the ringtones try to be much fancier than necessary. This one, while it does have the fancy tones, it has some good basic ones too.

So overall, I think I like it better than the one I lost, which is good. Though it’s not quite as good as the phone I had before that.

Leave a Reply

