h1

extra.

March 10, 2010

I recently finished the books The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and The Girl who Played with Fire, both by Stieg Larrson. Both books were recommended and lent to me by my mom. These books have been on the best-seller lists, so why not check them out. There’s a third one in the series, I believe, but I haven’t gotten to it.

I’d recommend both books. Keep in mind, these books are not difficult to read. I personally like easy reads – books that I can finish in a few sittings (and that’s given that I read very slowly). They’re very plot-driven, solve-the-mystery type of books. Similar to the DaVinci Code, but a little less cliff-hanger, “made for the movies”-esque. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo took a while to get going, but once it picked up, I couldn’t put it down. I think you definitely have to read both of them. While The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo can stand alone as a novel, the sequel brings a few more answers to the back story.

In addition to my reading, I’ve watched a few movies, that by themselves I don’t have enough to say. First, It’s Complicated. This movie looked amusing from the previews, but ultimately was disappointing. I also watched The Proposal. Not expecting a lot out of this one, and it lived up to exactly what you would expect. Plus, I like Sandra Bullock. District 9 was one of the better movies I’ve seen lately. It took me a while to get into it, but I liked it a lot. However, I hadn’t read most of the hype (just heard about it), so I didn’t start out with any real expectations. Couples Retreat – again, this is one of those movies that is exactly what you expect. And last, but definitely the best, The Brothers Bloom. Most definitely see this movie. It was funny and touching and I like Adrian Brody.

One comment

  1. I enjoyed Brothers Bloom, but I have a huge soft spot for any movie about brothers. The Japanese girl was funny, too.

    District 9 was one of my favorites from last year (other faves: The Hurt Locker and Zombieland). Such a beautiful-looking movie that’s also super disgusting and gross and filled with amazing effects.



Leave a Reply

