h1

alice.

March 22, 2010

With some friends, I went to see Tim Burton’s Alice in Wonderland. I love Tim Burton. Lately, I think his movies have only been so-so (Corpse Bride, Sweeney Todd, 9 – which I didn’t even get through). All his signature pieces are evident in those movies, but they just weren’t very captivating for me. Anyway, I’m willing to accept you can’t have big wins all the time. Plus, in addition to Burton, I also love Helena Bonham Carter and Johnny Depp.

As an overall impression, the movie was good – not exceptional, not terrible – pretty much just average. I’m not in love with either the Disney animated Alice or the old 1985 live action TV movie version. In fact, I only remember bits and pieces of both. And I read the book years ago in school. Knowing that Burton’s version wouldn’t be a direct remake – like Charley and the Chocolate Factory – I couldn’t be significantly disappointed.

I think all the characters were well-played. Everyone was able to play the part of being absolutely insane, but in a way that’s just an exaggeration of normal people.  I liked the scenery and costumes especially. I absolutely want every single one of Alice’s dresses – specifically the one the Hatter makes for her (those tie sandals were awesome too) and the one the Red Queen has made. I liked most of the references to the book and the original story, with the little tweaks here and there (i.e. is it Wonderland or Underland?). On the other hand, I wasn’t a huge fan of Mia Wasikowska. I felt she had the same look on her face throughout the entire movie and of all the characters, she was the least developed.

With this being my second 3D movie, I’ve decided it’s definitely not for me. I would much rather not wear glasses that don’t stay on my face than see the 3D effects. It’s too much annoyance. Too often during the movie I feel compelled to adjust the glasses, take them off, do something that interrupts my concentration. And I always feel like my eyes can’t focus with 3D movies, which after a while makes me feel like I’m crossing my eyes.

One comment

  1. First a small correction: 9 was not a Tim Burton movie. He simply helped produce/finance it. It was actually a feature length version of a student’s thesis film.

    Second, a small pimpage: http://server.ericsbinaryworld.com/blog/2010/03/14/review-tim-burtons-alice-in-wonderland/



Leave a Reply

