h1

nyc.

May 10, 2010

I spent a day in New York City after working a couple of nights in New Jersey. Unfortunately, my plan didn’t go as expected. First, I was only going to have about 24 hours before I had to fly out again. Second, the friends I planned to visit were unavailable (totally spaced about it being Mother’s Day weekend). Third, I worked a 12 hour shift on Friday night – meaning Saturday I had to choose between sleep and other activities on my one day. Not my best planning, but if the opportunity presents itself, I like to find time for personal travel. End result = 35 hours awake, 3 cups of coffee, 1 hour of sleep.

Highlights from my day:

People – obviously, the main reason I wanted a trip in the first place. This was my first time ever visiting my sister in her own place (I usually just see her during the holidays), which was exciting. The only other person I saw was the ex-boyfriend, whom I’ve spoken to once in the last 2.5 years. The fact that we’re on speaking terms at all is still a little surprising to me, but hanging out was less awkward than expected.

New York Farmer’s Market – a little disappointing (though it was pointed out, I’m comparing a city market to Madison’s market – it’s not the same). However, it was a beautiful sunny day. And I tried mustard greens for the first time; I never knew they tasted spicy!

Chinatown dumplings/noodles – Chinese food is always exciting for me because I don’t eat that much in Madison. My friend took me to a tiny little place in Chinatown where we got dumplings and hand-made noodles. It was delicious.

Metropolitan Museum of Art – Because I love museums, especially art museums. I didn’t spend too long there (I felt bad dragging my friend along), but the roof garden exhibit was amazing. It was a crazy bamboo structure, which, if it had been less windy, we could have walked up to the top of it. Beautiful views from the roof of the museum too.

One comment

  1. Mmmm….dumplings.



Leave a Reply

