h1

auburn.

June 15, 2010

I’ve been getting restless about my hair for the last few months, but since my last hair dying experience was less than spectacular, I’ve held off trying anything new. In fact, I bought hair coloring a few weeks ago, thinking I should change my color as my hair was already somewhat lightened. And after helping a friend put pink streaks into her hair, I figured, why not lighten a little bit more and try a more normal reddish color.

First lesson – I’m terrible at evenly bleaching my hair. It’s hard to tell which parts I covered and which I didn’t. The bleach I used was a much thicker consistency that coloring, which makes it harder to evenly distribute. And the fact that parts of my hair were already lighter, I didn’t want to make those too bleached. As soon as I washed the bleach out, it was very clear I had missed a lot of my hair. My result:

It made me slightly worried. It was fun to be blondish for a little while. It’s bold and exciting. But would such a difference be as noticeable once it was colored again? I hoped not. The difference between blond and black has to be more obvious than red and black, right?

And a couple hours later, the blond was auburn. I’m undecided on how I feel about it. It’s not obnoxiously bright. In fact, it’s almost too normal for me. And because I still have a significant amount of black hair still, I can’t decide if it looks like a terrible dye job (truth) or if it’s what I’m going for (part truth). I definitely wouldn’t want fully reddish-brown hair.

ps. This picture doesn’t really look anything like what my hair actually looks like. I couldn’t seem to capture the true color in my webcam.

We’ll see how things go – but it will probably go back to black sooner rather than later. Though I’m getting tempted to just go to a salon to get it dyed brightly. I really still want to go back to this (which will probably never happen):

3 comments

  1. Nice, especially the first two.


    • Thanks!


  2. I’d have to see it in person since I don’t think the web cam does it justice, but it looks pretty good to me.



Leave a Reply

