h1

disconnect.

July 20, 2010

I analyzed my blog yesterday with the website Typealyzer. The basic idea is that it analyzes any particular website and assigns it a “personality” – using the same conventions as the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator assessment. So, for those who’ve never done that kind of test, it assesses you on four different levels – Introverted/Extroverted, Sensing/iNtuition, Feeling/Thinking, and Judgment/Perception. It assigned this blog to the ESFP type (The Performers). What exactly does that mean?

The entertaining and friendly type. They are especially attuned to pleasure and beauty and like to fill their surroundings with soft fabrics, bright colors and sweet smells. They live in the present moment and don´t like to plan ahead – they are always in risk of exhausting themselves.

They enjoy work that makes them able to help other people in a concrete and visible way. They tend to avoid conflicts and rarely initiate confrontation – qualities that can make it hard for them in management positions.

Now, anytime I take this kind of test, I end up as ISTJ. It’s interesting to me that three out of four of the dichotomies are different between me and my blog. And the one dichotomy that remains the same is the one I express the least through the questionnaire. Unusual? Probably not. The website even comments on the fact that it’s not meant to have the same results as the MBTI.
But it does make me wonder where this disconnect happens. Is it that I write a certain way that’s somewhat different from how I am? If that’s the case, I’m really good at staying consistent. I put in various other blogs that I’ve kept up, and it’s the same result. It’s a little uncanny. Or is it that my writing is a much more objective point of view? Maybe I really am more extroverted and just don’t know it. It’s pretty impossible to be unbiased while filling in a personality test. I’m tempted to think it’s more the latter
2 comments

  1. I just tried my blog and I got ESFP as well. The last time I took the Myers-Briggs I was an ISTP.

    But I noticed that it only reads off the given page, so I tried putting in my posts by month:

    May-INTP
    Apr-ESTP
    Mar-ISTP
    Feb-ESFP
    Jan-ESFP
    Dec-ESFP
    Nov-ESTP

    Guess I jump around a lot. Always a P though.

    Very cool site.


  2. Hmmm… I fed a few craigslist car ads to the Typealyzer, most of them came up “ISTP — The Mechanics”. I guess that’s about right. :p



Leave a Reply

