h1

restless.

August 10, 2010

Due to a recent upswing in travel (both personal and work-related), I’ve been feeling restless. In the last two months, I’ve spent time in seven other states (and airport layovers don’t count). Now I might be antsy partly because it’s hard to find the motivation to work after vacationing. But it’s also partly because when I travel it feels like I’m constantly going. And then when I finally get to pause, things seem to move in slow motion. It’s a strange feeling. Not that I don’t enjoy when I can just watch a movie and do the laundry. But it tends to feel like resting between races – which isn’t really resting as much as it’s waiting for the next thing.

I never understood people who “can’t settle down”, whether it be in relationships or life in general. It was a foreign concept to me. These people always seemed to be searching for something better – a case of the grass is always greener. And I’ve been of the opinion it’s better to find your green pasture fast and stick to it.

So this restless feeling. I haven’t quite decided if I think it means I need to start moving on. Or if it means that I’m starting to settle down. On the one hand, I think there’s a pretty obvious argument for the moving on. Clearly, if my routine is making me antsy, it’s probably time for something new. On the other hand, it could be a sign that I just need to keep up and keep going. Or rather, perhaps all the travel and running around is better for me than staying in one place. I feel a life changing epiphany coming on soon.

Leave a Reply

