h1

enneagram.

September 11, 2010

Yay! New personality test to be taken! It comprises of almost 40 questions, in which you choose the statement that best describes you. Then you get scored between 7 different personality types. My top scores were between the Perfectionist and the Achiever.

These “choose one or the other” type tests are getting trickier for me. Questions about whether I’m sociable or if I focus on relationships or if I’m  independent – choosing one always makes me question the other option. As opposed to the questions about being spontaneous or goal-oriented, where I have no question about what to pick. I don’t personally think I’m all that sociable and I’m not a great conversationalist. But I really like meeting new people, and I sometimes I’m friendlier than the average person. Usually, I end up going with options that make me seem much more closed-off than I really am.

Anyways, my results below:

Perfectionists are realistic, conscientious, and principled. They strive to live up to their high ideals. Achievers are energetic, optimistic, self-assured, and goal oriented.

How to Get Along with Me

  • Take your share of the responsibility so I don’t end up with all the work.
  • Acknowledge my achievements.
  • I’m hard on myself. Reassure me that I’m fine the way I am.
  • Tell me that you value my advice.
  • Be fair and considerate, as I am.
  • Apologize if you have been unthoughtful. It will help me to forgive.
  • Gently encourage me to lighten up and to laugh at myself when I get uptight, but hear my worries first.
  • Leave me alone when I am doing my work.
  • Give me honest, but not unduly critical or judgmental, feedback.
  • Help me keep my environment harmonious and peaceful.
  • Don’t burden me with negative emotions.
  • Tell me you like being around me.
  • Tell me when you’re proud of me or my accomplishments.

The Good about being me

  • being self-disciplined and able to accomplish a great deal
  • working hard to make the world a better place
  • having high standards and ethics; not compromising myself
  • being reasonable, responsible, and dedicated in everything I do
  • being able to put facts together, coming to good understandings, and figuring out wise solutions
  • being the best I can be and bringing out the best in other people
  • being optimistic, friendly, and upbeat
  • providing well for my family
  • being able to recover quickly from setbacks and to charge ahead to the next challenge
  • staying informed, knowing what’s going on
  • being competent and able to get things to work efficiently
  • being able to motivate people

The Bad about being me

  • being disappointed with myself or others when my expectations are not met
  • feeling burdened by too much responsibility
  • thinking that what I do is never good enough
  • not being appreciated for what I do for people
  • being upset because others aren’t trying as hard as I am
  • obsessing about what I did or what I should do
  • being tense, anxious, and taking things too seriously
  • having to put up with inefficiency and incompetence
  • the fear on not being — or of not being seen as — successful
  • comparing myself to people who do things better
  • struggling to hang on to my success
  • putting on facades in order to impress people
  • always being “on.” It’s exhausting.

As a Child

  • criticize themselves in anticipation of criticism from others
  • refrain from doing things that they think might not come out perfect
  • focus on living up to the expectations of their parents and teachers
  • are very responsible; may assume the role of parent
  • hold back negative emotions (“good children aren’t angry”)
  • work hard to receive appreciation for their accomplishments
  • are well liked by other children and by adults
  • are among the most capable and responsible children in their class or school
  • are active in school government and clubs or are quietly busy working on their own projects

As A Parent

  • teach their children responsibility and strong moral values
  • are consistent and fair
  • discipline firmly
  • are consistent, dependable, and loyal
  • struggle between wanting to spend time with their children and wanting to get more work done
  • expect their children to be responsible and organized
Leave a Reply

