h1

compliment.

September 24, 2010

I just finished a major project at work. It’s been on my mind for months, but it basically took over my life for the last three weeks. For this project, I worked with many people who were extremely good at their jobs – which is probably the reason they were assigned to this group. So comparatively, I’ve been feeling like I’m not as on top of things as I should be. Paired with the inevitable scrutiny and difficult questions that come with a high-profile project, I was just constantly feeling behind.

But last week, I got a compliment!

That sounds really stupid and trivial. But this was special for two reasons. First, it was directly to me for something that I didn’t think anyone had really noticed. Owning my part of the project was a logical extension of what I was already owning internally. Being extremely involved was just an expected part of that ownership. It was just nice to have that acknowledgment. Second, it came from someone who I rarely ever hear give compliments. This pretty much made all the difference. To have a compliment to come from such an unexpected source – it really just made my day for several days. It almost makes me not want to compliment people so that when I do, it ends up being that special.

Leave a Reply

