h1

impression pt. 2

October 15, 2010

Part 2: which I actually do not really know how it relates to Part 1 – except they both stemmed from the same thought, but 1 was more general and 2 is more me.

I know a lot of people who would never start personal blogs because they don’t feel like they have anything to say. I also know a lot of people who have blogs that are specific to something they’re interested in, but it’s not extremely personal. And then there are so many people who do blog about their lives and they do have interesting stories.

Whenever I’m told by someone that they could never blog because they have nothing to say, it always feels a little like an implied insult. Because I always think “What do I have to say?” It’s not like I do anything extremely exciting or interesting. I work a lot (though I rarely discuss my work outside of traveling on this blog). I watch movies, read articles online, do random stuff around Madison. Essentially, I do what everyone else probably does – if not less. I’m not even a writer – good writing can’t even save my posts if they’re boring.

So do I consider myself interesting – no, not at all. It actually surprises me if people tell me they thought something I wrote was interesting. And usually I just attribute it to the fact that they’re my friends in the first place – they have to find me interesting on some level. But when it comes down to it, I started this blog for me. The same way a person would start a journal or a diary. It was just somewhere to record my life, so 20 years from now, I can look back and actually remember in not so vague terms what I was doing and thinking. Essentially, it’s what I would have a conversation about with my friends.

But of course it’s colored and censored appropriately for being open to the public. You’ll notice few very negative personal posts – because I usually don’t think those end up being appropriate. Likewise, I write very little about my friends’ lives or my family or people in my life in general – beyond something they might have said in a conversation or an idea they passed along. I rarely reference my job or what I do (outside traveling) – for various reasons. And I am extremely selective in what I write about the boyfriend. That leaves some pretty major holes in any sort of impression about me.

9 comments

  1. You know it’s weird. I don’t write a whole lot about the ongoings of my life either, but whenever I go back and look at older blogs, the ones about specific events(graduation, dates, etc) are always the most interesting.

    The others are interesting too, in a “Wow I can’t believe I used to think like that” kind of way, but it doesn’t really bring the same nostalgic value.


    • Agreed. I think I need to take advantage of the “private” setting, that way I can record certain things for my personal use but not broadcast it to the world


      • If you use the “private” setting – hah this is kinda related to snooping – I recommend you also be diligent about signing out, and not using the “leave me logged in” setting… especially if you use a public or shared computer.

        I tried using the “private” setting for a while, but stopped for this reason.


      • I hardly ever use the remember me setting. Mostly because it annoys me when other people do and I use their computer.


  2. Hahaha I still think your blog is more interesting than my own hypothetical life blog would be


    • Yep. I sometimes wonder if that’s just because you’re my sister. If I didn’t have a blog, there’s a good chance you would just see an email about it 🙂


      • In fact, I mine your blog for conversation topics to talk about w/ my friends, because sometimes I can’t come up w/ anything interesting on my own! 🙂


      • Ha. Do your friends find those topics interesting?


  3. I keep my book review blog partly just so I don’t forget how to utilize the English language in writing.



Leave a Reply

