h1

five.

December 24, 2010

There’s a point when I think I rely on too many electronics. In fact, I’m currently sitting in the Detroit Airport with a laptop, a Kindle, an iPod, a camera and a cell phone. Thank goodness I keep it simple. There’s a slew of other items that I could have: handheld game systems, Fitbit (I do want one), a second cell phone, iPad (though that might just replace the laptop), external hard drive, wireless mouse, etc. Despite that – I’m still carrying FIVE different devices.

And all of them will require, at some point this week, some power charging (side note: airports are notoriously bad at having power outlets, which baffles me). Now not only am I carrying the device, I’m carrying the cords and/or batteries. It’s no wonder devices are getting smaller and purses are getting bigger.

This is when I think, Wouldn’t it be great if I could have one device that does everything? You know what that means? It means that if all five of my devices were packed into one – my entire life would be on it. That would be so simple. Except I lost my cell phone once. IT SUCKED. At that point, my phone didn’t even do anything beyond 300 texts a month and phone calls. So it also means that when I lose it or break it or it malfunctions, I’ll be utterly and completely out of luck. I don’t think I’m ready to put all my eggs into one basket quite yet.

2 comments

  1. Sounds like you want something like an iPhone. 🙂
    PS in flight WiFi is kinda cool. I’m typing this reply while in route to DTW. Ha! Merry Christmas!


  2. Get any decent smart phone. That should at least merge your camera, iPod and cell phone into one. If you’re worried about what happens when you lose it, just back everything up on the cloud! We’re not that far off from that happening anyway. Of course, that opens up another can of worms via privacy/potential loss of data…



Leave a Reply

