h1

changes pt 1.

July 5, 2011

Well, I’m here – in San Francisco. In a mostly empty apartment. With a wonderful view. I’ve spent the first week getting settled and trying to figure out how to work around not having any of my stuff delivered yet.

But there are a few things that will take some adjusting.

1) Buses – I may be spoiled having only minimally dealt with public transportation, but that’s how it is. I’ve even become somewhat competent at navigating a subway system. But buses are a whole new world. And I haven’t quite given up the convenience of being completely on your own schedule. I’m going to need to learn a little patience to wait for the bus.

2) Hills – There are some big ones. And I live at the top of one. As of yet, I have only attempted to walk around in flat shoes and sneakers. I can’t even imagine wearing heels right now. Any tips would be appreciated.

3) Temperature – San Francisco seems to be the exact temperature Wisconsin hardly ever is. Low/mid 60’s all the time. And windy. So it means that it’s July and if I wear just a summer dress, it’s way too cold. On the positive side – better than being 90 and humid, and it’s consistent. But it will take some adjusting of my wardrobe to account for “fall” temperatures in my summer style.

4) Cost of Living – worse since I don’t currently have an income. It’s going to take some time to adjust to the price differences between here and Madison.

5) Cooking for two – after three years, I’ve pretty much got cooking for just me under wraps. It’s so much easier – in a last-minute meal, I can always eat cheese/crackers or throw whatever leftovers I have together. Not quite the case for two people. But hopefully my cooking skills will greatly improve.

One comment

  1. As people incorrectly think Mark Twain said,

    “The coldest winter I ever spent was a summer in San Francisco”



Leave a Reply

