h1

stories.

July 20, 2011

Since I live right by a park, it’s so easy to go outside to read for a few hours. Also, the San Francisco Library has awesome book sales (books are $1), so that makes me want to buy a whole bunch.

Here Lies Arthur – A story of King Arthur from the point of view of an orphaned girl, taken in by Myrddin – Arthur’s bard/advisor. This version takes away a lot of the mystery – painting Arthur as a warlord and making all the magic just fairy tales. In general, I always like putting legends into a more realistic setting, but this book just wasn’t working for me. I’m not sure if it was the style, or the fact that the plot moved along either too fast or too slow or something altogether.

Sandman Slim – A book about a guy who just spent the last decade in Hell, and now he’s back for revenge on the group that sent him there. We’re talking demons, dark magic, angels, etc. I wasn’t terribly impressed. Given the amount of fantasy that I read, magic shouldn’t bother me as much as it does. But mixing magic into otherwise real world settings really turns me off.

SuperFreakanomics – Pretty much exactly what you would expect. I think I read too many of these books and they all start to run together after a while.

A Wild Sheep Chase – This was my first time reading a book by Haruki Murakami. I was a bit hesitant at first, since his books don’t really seem up my alley. The storyline was ok – the end, a bit too unreal for me. Basic plot is about a man who needs to find a mysterious sheep with a star on its side. But, overall, I really liked it and I plan on reading more of his stuff.

Upcoming: A Scanner Darkly, Harold and Maude, Homebody, The Time Traveler’s Wife, the Game of Thrones series, Revolutionary Road.

side note: This whole unemployment/new city is slowing any sort of inspiration for writing in this blog. Things originally slowed down when I was planning to leave my job (didn’t want to write about that), then moving (too busy to write), then settling in. So now, I’m settled in and I’ll be trying to get back in the habit. Be prepared – the next couple posts are most likely going to be about food and movies and books.

5 comments

  1. The Once and Future King is the only Arthurian legend I’ve ever really appreciated, but I haven’t read it in 9 years.

    Haruki Murakami is one of my favorite writers. So surreal and interesting, although I sometimes fear that some of the intent is lost in translation. If you want something a little less bizarre, Norwegian Wood is a more “normal” story, although it does feature some Murakami metaphysical elements. His latest book, 1Q84, is due out this October, I believe.

    I’ve read A Scanner Darkly (not bad) and I love The Time Traveler’s Wife, even though I’m kind of embarrassed to say so since it’s pretty much a romance novel. It’s the same thing with The Hunger Games books. Good, but still pretty much aimed at women.


    • I will definitely check out Norwegian Wood. And I’ve heard a lot of good things about the Time Traveler’s Wife (maybe from you?) though I hated the movie.

      If you have any other suggestions…though you seem to be on a comic book kick.


      • I still try and keep up on real books, but the only real major new ones I’m up on are A Visit From the Goon Squad and The Hunger Games. The first is a better book, but the second is a more fun, relaxing read. If you’ve never read it, Life of Pi is also a phenomenal book.


      • I tried Life of Pi a long time ago and couldn’t get very far. I’ve put Hunger Games onto my to-read list – I’ve been hearing a lot of good things about it lately.


      • Another good choice (part of a longer series still going on today!) is The Eyre Affair, first part of the Thursday Next saga by Jasper Fforde.

        The book assumes a cursory (and sometimes more than cursory) understanding of classical literature, but it’s generally quite funny and I love the books.



Leave a Reply

