h1

if you cry, it’s a good one.

August 2, 2011

Time Traveler’s Wife – Definitely enjoyed this one and then end had me crying my eyes out. And it wasn’t tainted at all by having seen the awful movie. My only problem with this story is that I keep feeling that Clare (the wife) is waiting her entire life. I’m not one to need a strong female character, but in this book, it bothers me that waiting is the only thing she does. It’s a lot like in New Moon, when depressed Bella is passes six months in six empty pages.

A Scanner Darkly – Unfortunately, this book wasn’t for me. It was just too many drug trips and not enough character connection. After a while, I felt like I was reading just to finish and then the end wrapped up way too fast.

Harold and Maude – read it in about one day. If you’ve ever seen the movie – the book is just like it. I don’t know why I expected anything else.

Homebody – by Orson Scott Card. It was a quick read but nothing special. I didn’t really connect with the characters and it’s got the whole “supernatural in the real world” thing that I dislike.

Upcoming: Game of Thrones, Squeezed, Lace Makers of Glenmara

3 comments

  1. Clare is very passive in that “there’s only one man in the world for me” way. Niffenegger does kind of hand-wave it away with the psychological mindscrew that Clare has always known from a young age that she would be with Henry (and that time was a closed loop). There is a certain fatalism to her character that logically leads to waiting which I don’t think Bella has (never read the books!), but it is still kind of troubling to read.

    Also troubling to read: the part of the book where they’re heartbreakingly trying to conceive. A lot of sad moments in the book. I’ll admit it chokes me up a bit.

    I also thought A Scanner Darkly was a little too trippy, but I was a little more taken with the way the story unfolded. I wouldn’t recommend other Phillip K. Dick stories if you didn’t like that one.


    • It’s not so much the fatalism that bothered me – I can accept Clare’s destined to be with Henry. What bothered me was that Henry is always off time traveling and otherwise “having adventures”. While a lot of his time traveling is focused on visiting a different Clare, I felt Niffenegger does enhance it with his family and visiting his mother before she died and his younger self. Whereas Clare’s life is punctuated by Henry and it only glances over her life outside of that (her art, raising their daughter, her issues with her family). You’re right, the part where they’re dealing with the miscarriages is so sad. It’s also the main time I feel the story focused on Clare rather than Henry (and how she deals and manages a lot without Henry).


      • To a degree I think it’s supposed to be that way, I mean, it’s part of Clare’s “tragedy” and “character,” but it’s not really fair to her (as a character) and using that as an excuse doesn’t make it more fun to read from that perspective.



Leave a Reply

