h1

dip.

August 10, 2011

Back in Madison, when I was in town, I used to go to the gym quite a bit – 5 times a week for an hour. I was determined not to let my membership go to waste, even if I traveled every other week. So I made sure to find a gym with classes (because otherwise I have no motivation) that I really enjoyed. Supreme Health and Fitness offered lots of classes and all their instructors are great. But now that I’m in California – I don’t belong to a gym. And now I’m all worried that my previous eating habits are going to catch up with me.

The point being that I’ve been on a quest to find healthy snacks. Not healthy in the sense that I can only eat 8 almonds or 15 chips. Hence the zucchini carrot muffins, roasted chickpeas, and lots of fruit. Recently, I’ve decided to experiment with dips in an effort to sneak in more veggies.

Dip #1 – Basil Chickpea – I got the idea from this recipe. Like always though, I don’t ever have all the right ingredients. So I substituted red pepper in place of the cucumber and added more basil (since I love basil). Turned out pretty well. I tried it again – but used tomato instead of cucumber or pepper – bad idea. Way overpowering and way too watery. This dip was best if it’s been refrigerated overnight – the basil taste really comes out.

Dip #2 – Eggplant Zucchini – This started as an attempt at baba ganoush (which I’ve never even really had) because I had an eggplant that felt like it was about to go bad. It became a combination of this and that. Confession: I never ever have tahini. I roasted my eggplant and zucchini – both brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with salt. Threw it all in the food processor with basil (because I have so much), lemon, salt, pepper, lots of garlic. So good while everything was still a bit warm from the roasting. We’ll see how it does after being in the fridge.

I know dip recipes all end up about the same especially since I rarely have any fancy ingredients. But I still look at recipes to get a better idea of what things could go well together. Also, having a food processor is just about the best thing ever.

6 comments

  1. For those that want a second opinion, the Dip #1 tastes great! I haven’t tried Dip #2 yet, but it’ll probably taste even better.


  2. RE Dip #1, in place of tomato, try tomatillo. For a bit more spice, add some finely sliced jalapeño pepper. 🙂


    • Hmm, interesting suggestion. If I could handle spicy, then I’d definitely try the pepper. What exactly is the difference between tomato and tomatillo? That’s something I’ve never taken the time to research, but I see tomatillos at the market all the time.


      • The first time I learned about tomatillo was in hotel school’s cooking class for non-hotelies. Tomatillo is not as juicy, but more acid than tomato, used often in salsa, if I remembered correctly.

        That cooking class was the high point of my studies. 🙂


  3. I’ve been obsessed with my food processor lately! I just made a carrot, ginger dip/spread. Basically just carrot, ginger, garlic, some tahini, lemon, salt/cayenne pepper to taste. It’s awesome as a dip for veggies, spread on chicken and on sandwiches, especially with mustard. Have you tried making gazpacho? It’s so easy, super healthy, and totally customizable. I made 2 large batches this past weekend and froze them for later.


    • I haven’t tried gazpacho – I’ve always been wary of cold soups. Do you have a good recipe? – you can email it to me. Otherwise, I will definitely try the carrot dip – since I have all those ingredients all the time.



Leave a Reply

