h1

black bean burgers.

August 25, 2011

I soaked/cooked black beans last week without any specific intent on using them. When a couple of days past, I had to use them before they went bad. Since I don’t have a plethora of bean recipes, I decided to experiment and make black bean burgers. Being completely honest – I’ve never had a black bean burger in my life. Meat burgers just have so much more appeal to me. However, that also means I had no idea what I was going for in taste, texture or looks. This makes my style of cooking (aka not following a recipe) a lot harder.

After a lot of recipe searching to get a general idea, here’s what I ended up doing:

  • Black beans (cooked)
  • Zucchini (half)
  • Onion (half)
  • Red and Green Pepper (bits and pieces that I had)
  • Salt/Pepper/Cumin/Garlic Powder

Put it all in the food processor until it looked like what I would guess black bean burgers look like – err on the lumpy side. Mix in 1 egg and breadcrumbs. Cook them in a frying pan.

My first batch didn’t hold together at all – it ended up being more mushy lumps. So I mixed in more breadcrumbs and the second group at least held their burger shape. I ate them with avocado and Monterey Jack cheese. They were pretty awesome; I will definitely have to work on getting the consistency right.

One comment

  1. Look at you eating black bean burgers with avocado. Could you get any more west coast?

    I’m having a good time imagining you telling a Wisconsinite about your meatless burger.



Leave a Reply

