h1

shutter island.

September 1, 2011

I finally watched Shutter Island. I’d been putting it off because I thought it was going to be a scary movie. Anyway, I really liked the movie – one of the better ones I’ve seen in a long time.

***SPOILER ALERT***

Of course, the big twist at the end is one of the reasons this movie is a lot of fun. Everyone loves when movies aren’t exactly what they seem on the surface. I had heard that there was a twist – though I didn’t know what it was exactly. So while watching the movie, I came to my own conclusions about what the twist was – which was similar, but not quite.

First, I decided DiCaprio’s character was crazy almost from the very beginning. When they’re driving to the hospital, he mentions he’s seen electric fences before – which to me meant that he’d been in institutions for the insane before (this was before they showed he was in a war). His patient status was almost definitely confirmed in the scene where the patients are all talking to their doctors and he’s talking with Ben Kingsley about his missing partner. I figured he had burned down his apartment not this supposed “Laeddis”, killing his children/wife. The movie seemed to continue to give clues that DiCaprio had an inclination toward fire – the burning matches to see in Ward C, the blowing up of the car.

Essentially, I thought the whole plot was going to be that he was crazy and in this institution and everything was backwards. That the white outfits of the orderlies were really the patient outfits, that Ruffalo’s character was really just another crazy person running around with him coming up with his own paranoid conclusions – things like that.

The last thing I liked about the movie was that at the end, you can think that he’s still crazy or not. I am of the opinion that he didn’t relapse.

If you’ve seen this movie, what are your thoughts?

2 comments

  1. Haven’t seen it myself, but I’m wondering what your stance is on media with big twists at the end. Do you go back, re-watch/read/listen again to see the clues or are you satisfied with seeing it once?

    I feel like the best done twist media is still interesting no matter how many times you experience it.


    • I’m usually good with just seeing it once. I’m not careful enough watching movies that it makes sense for me to watch them again – I probably still wouldn’t pick up on most of the clever scenes or clues. This was Yi’s second time watching Shutter Island, so he thought it was neat to see how certain things play out once you knew what was going to happen.



Leave a Reply

