h1

so healthy.

September 5, 2011

Zucchini Fritters – Thanks to Dan for sending me the recipe. With zucchini as the only vegetable in my house last week, this was perfect. It was a pretty easy recipe, but it’ll take me a little bit of practice to make sure they cook evenly and don’t get too soggy. It is definitely key to wring out the zucchini – there’s a lot of water in them!

Roasted Cauliflower – I’ve never made cauliflower before. And my first though with cauliflower is cheese and cream. So this is a super simple alternative – seriously, easiest recipe ever. I was worried at first that it would be dry or boring. But roasting cauliflower actually turned out really well. I can’t wait to buy more at the farmer’s market next week.

Overnight Oats – I decided to start eating breakfast, since I’m not in any rush to leave the house in the morning. I kept seeing my blogs discuss Overnight Oats – which is essentially cold oatmeal. I figured I’d try it out (even though I’ve never been an oatmeal fan). It also takes a lot of forethought to make the night before. The basic recipe is oatmeal and milk (flavored, almond, soy, whatever) and stick it in the fridge overnight. In the morning, mix in any more additives – I use maple syrup, peanut butter, banana. You can add all sorts of stuff to make it healthier; I’ve been experimenting with wheat bran and flax seeds (though apparently flax seeds are better for you if they’re ground instead of whole).

Side note: Dan also suggested I post pictures of all this food I’m making. The only problem is that most food I make does not look that good, especially the first time. Also, because I’m usually eat it before I remember to take a picture. Which is why I link to food sites instead.

2 comments

  1. Glad the fritters came out ok. I’ll be sure to send any appetizing looking recipes I come across your way.


  2. Overnight oats sounds yummy. I suspect it’s the same result as slow-cooking ’em for four hours — higher temperature makes oatmeal fibers swell and absorb water better and gets the flavor in/out.



Leave a Reply

