h1

fiction.

October 12, 2011

I’ve been trying out the whole borrowing library books on the Kindle thing. It’s been working pretty well. There are a few weird things like automatic returns – meaning no renewals and no returning early – that I figured out perusing the FAQs. The collection isn’t as large and my Kindle can’t have the books transferred wirelessly, but it does save a trip to the library. So now I’ve got a mix of reading on the Kindle and reading actual books.

The Weird Sisters: I chose this one because I kept passing it on the new fiction display at the library. It’s about three sisters who don’t get along and how they all come home when their mother gets cancer. I liked it overall. However, the author did a really strange narration, which bothered me the entire book. She spoke from a first person plural point of view even though it wasn’t narrated by a character. This made it seem, when the book talked about two of the sisters that you were the third sister (even though you weren’t). I guess it helps you step into the characters’ shoes better, but it kept throwing me off.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time: This was one of those books I constantly see – at the library, at book stores, at book sales, in people’s houses. It’s told from the perspective of an autistic boy. I can’t judge how genuine the main character seemed, as I have no real experience with autism. But overall, I didn’t really like the book. The story wasn’t that interesting and the characters not too likable.

Will Grayson, Will Grayson: Oh man, this is straight young adult fiction. Two boys, two totally different lives, same name – so naturally their lives start to become intertwined. One’s a shy kid, dealing with getting a girlfriend and losing a best friend. The other is a depressed kid, dealing with being gay and having a boyfriend for the first time. Interestingly, the book’s written by two authors – each writes one of the boys. Conclusion: I think I’m getting too old for this kind of YA book. If you’re not, it was good – especially the end.

Lace Makers of Glenmara: A quick read about a girl who visits a small town in Ireland and brings with her a little bit of freshness to the tradition in the town. It was one of those “find what you really want in life” kind of plots. But I think the book/plot moved too fast to have any good character development.

The Walking Dead Vol 1: Yi and I read this together and I liked it.

One comment

  1. The Walking Dead is awesome! They change artists in Vol 2, if they haven’t already, but it’s pretty great. Just don’t get attached to too many of the characters…



Leave a Reply

