h1

watch the throne.

December 20, 2011

I haven’t disappeared completely. After Thanksgiving it’s been a mad dash to the end of the year. Who am I kidding – even Thanksgiving came up in a rush. But this month, I went to go see Jay-Z and Kanye West on their Watch the Throne tour.

First, this was my first concert in a stadium-like setting. It’s a totally different experience. Our seats were pretty far up in the HP Pavilion, so it felt really relaxed and removed. But it was a much bigger production than I’ve seen before – rising stages, video projections, fire, lasers, lots of lights.

Music-wise, they did almost the entire Watch the Throne album, as well as a good number of their individual hits. The set list is here. And yes, they did play the same song 5 times including the encore. I gotta give them credit. The whole show was a solid 2 hours without any real breaks. That’s a lot for just 2 guys.

As an aside, I’ve now been to two concerts here. And I realize that I prefer regular cigarette smoke (in concert venues, bars, pretty much anywhere) to pot smoke. I realize I’m probably in the minority on this.

One comment

  1. Pot smoke? Well if it’s not banned yet, I’ve gotta try it this time I go over to CA.



Leave a Reply

