h1

summary.

January 5, 2012

Every December, I have grand plans to write a summary of my year. I love reading other people’s top ten lists and reflections on the last 12 months. But somehow, with all the holiday traveling and celebrating – followed by inevitable laziness – I never get around to it. But this year – it’s going to be different. Maybe a little bit late, but I’m still doing it. Rather, I’m stealing these questions from Jenn. Even though I don’t really know her, I liked her end of year post the best – not overly reflective and not overly shallow. It’s all about balance.

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

Quit my first job, moved across the country, road tripped through South Dakota, Wyoming, Idaho, Utah, and Nevada.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t really make resolutions. Or if I do, they’re always the same – be healthier, look better when I leave the house, get more organized. And since I keep making them, I guess they’re not getting done.

3. Did anyone close to you die?

No. Though, I am sitting here thinking Wouldn’t it be terrible if I said no and that was wrong? What if I just couldn’t think of it at the moment of writing this post? I’m most definitely sure this is a no though.

4. What countries did you visit?

None. But I did spend at least 71 nights in hotels and took 50+ flights (most of which happened in the first six months of the year).

5. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

A job.

6. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I’m terrible with specific dates. The only one that I can remember really is 6/15 – my last day at Epic.

7. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Finally moving to California. A 4 year long distance relationship is a huge achievement.

8. What was your biggest failure?

I guess I could say not getting it together and finding a job, but I’m ok being unemployed. And after my short stint of temporary employment, I’m happier being unemployed than in a job I don’t like.

9. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Caught a crazy cough from my brother over Thanksgiving. Pulled a muscle from coughing too much. Mostly better now.

10. What was the best thing you bought?

Fitbit. Hands down. I love this little thing.

11. Where did most of your money go?

Living expenses and health insurance.

14. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

I surprised the boyfriend on Valentine’s Day by flying out to California. I was really excited about that.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) happier or sadder?

Happier.

b) thinner or fatter?

I feel fatter, but I think it’s still the same.

c) richer or poorer?

Poorer.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Pretty much anything that I can only do in Wisconsin.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Stressing over being unemployed. Sleeping (I slept a lot more than I usually do).

18. How did you spend Christmas?

At home with my family. Now the only time of year my entire family gets together.

19. What was your favorite TV program?

I don’t have a favorite show, but I watched a good chunk of Battlestar Galactica, Wings, Scrubs, The Walking Dead, and Law and Order: SVU this year.

20. What was the best book you read?

Tied: Packing for Mars (Mary Roach) or The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (Rebecca Skloot) or The Time Traveler’s Wife (Audrey Niffenegger) or The Fortune Cookie Chronicles (Jennifer Lee).

21. What did you want and get?

More “life” less work.

22. What did you want and not get?

Direction. Less stress.

23. What was your favorite film of this year?

Oh god, nothing came to mind for this question. I actually had to Google “top 2011 movies” to even job my memory of what was released this year – even though I know I don’t watch new movies that often. So my favorites this year (even though most are old): The Adjustment Bureau, The Cove, and The Good The Bad and The Weird.

24. What new music did you discover?

Uh Huh Her, The Cults, Kimbra

25. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I never do much on my birthday. This year it was spent with the boyfriend’s family. We got a strange Asian cake that had this weird jello layer. I turned 26.

26. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

Transitioning into San Francisco. Haven’t quite gotten to wearing layers. But in general, more dresses and skirts and longer shirts.

27. What kept you sane?

The boyfriend.

28. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.

Making new friends in a new city without a job is really really hard.

29. What do you need to make time for in 2012?

Continuing to cook and read after I find a job, more active activities, writing in this blog, maybe meeting new people.

One comment

  1. Happy new year!



Leave a Reply

