h1

songs, sports, and superheroes

February 15, 2012

Burlesque – a movie starring Cher and Christina Aguilera? Yep. And it’s better than that sounds. Of course, it’s a musical. It also has Kristen Bell. Typical “poor girl tries to make it in the big city” plot – it’s not very good. But there’s singing and dancing and costumes. Plus I really like both Cher and Aguilera.

Captain America – I really wanted to like this movie. Everything is so classic good vs evil. And the girl seemed pretty cool. But I couldn’t get past the “beyond its time” technology or the fact that they made the bad guy red. I know, that’s how it is in the comics. As much as I love a clear cut bad guy – you really just made your Nazi bad guy look like a devil? It’s overkill.

Transformers Dark Side of the Moon – I fell asleep part way through. And the only thing I remember is how they tried to pass off the Milwaukee Art Museum as part of D.C. This would totally be ok, except it’s one of the most iconic buildings in Milwaukee.

Miracle – Feel good sports movies are the best. This is no exception. Also fell asleep during the final game against the Soviets, but watched it the next day. I didn’t do this with Transformers.

One comment

  1. Transformers and Burlesque – Didn’t see

    Captain America – I thought the English lady was cool too. Never thought about the Red Skull imagery being related to the devil. Makes tons of sense, but I always thought of it as related to the way that Nazi iconography is always very red.

    Miracle – USA! USA! USA! Seriously, feel good sports movies are almost embarrassing for me to watch. I was actively trying not to tear up during MONEYBALL when I was watching it with Min. It’s absurd. God I love sports movies.



Leave a Reply

