h1

diet update 1.

February 4, 2014

I’m counting this as the end of the first month of my no dairy/no white grain diet. This kind of cheating (since I didn’t really start at the beginning of January) is pretty much the theme of my whole month – you’ll see. I have lots of thoughts.

In a nutshell: it totally sucks.

Here’s the thing – it’s hard to change eating habits. And it’s hard in an unimaginable, un-talked about way. I’m pretty sure everyone can imagine the difficulty of running X miles or trying a crossfit class or exercising an hour every day. That physical effort and preparation is something people get without actually doing it.

But eating? Even for me, and I eat pretty healthy to start. It’s hard to imagine how much time you suddenly have to spend determining what you can eat. How much you should eat. When you should eat. What to do when you go out to eat. And that’s just logistics of getting food without too much disruption to your normal life. Then there are tons of small parts that pop up – how do you get the same satisfaction from eating? How do you kick any food habits and traditions? What do you do when you realize all the times you mindlessly snack?

Essentially,  I cheated probably every day. Morning coffee with milk. A piece of chocolate in the afternoon. A salad that had cheese in it. French fries because I love potatoes. Ramen because I got sick.  Pizza because it was the Superbowl. But besides all that, I have been eating a lot more vegetables. And quinoa. And I did give up my morning latte for regular coffee (or soy lattes, but it’s not the same).

Results: unmeasured.

I didn’t do before pictures or measurements. The number on the scale hasn’t changed. I have a sneaking suspicion that I’m eating more sugar in a way to compensate for what I feel like I’m missing. The amount of effort I’m spending when traveling to find things to eat is ridiculous. My portion control is getting better which has led to fewer energy level spikes and crashes. However, I have to be more conscious of when and how much I eat in order to keep energy levels at a regular level.

All this could be partially due to the fact that I’ve also been working out like crazy. So it’s a bit unclear what are diet effects and what are exercise effects.

Leave a Reply

